The Legend of Niwa

fail rage quitter disgrace ex-developer

• Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 Niwa

Niwa

Master Suicidalist

Posted 13 October 2014 - 04:18 PM

Hello, I am an ex-developer for Fortress Survival, here to just share my story that I'm sure not many will care or read about part of the history of how FS came about and continued to live on, but it would mean a lot to me if you do read, thank you for caring :).

I'm a University student, with a passionate hobby for making games. I've been making games as a hobby since I was 5.

These days kids expand their creativity building stuff on Minecraft. Well, when I was a kid, I sat behind a computer and made scenarios with Age of Empires, Empire Earth, and simple games with GameMaker, and RPG Maker (2000, XP, VX, etc). Of course I played Lego too. And lots of outdoor fun as well.

So I played Fortress Survival many years ago, since 4.80, when it was really simple. I'm sure many people have played way earlier versions (I have too, afterwards, just to see what it was like back then). I actually kind of miss it. Really slow-paced and simple, did not involve much skill, not too much replayability, but it was still fun and darn popular.

I found FS really fun, and it stuck with me, because of the co-op essence that I could not find in many other WC3 competitive games. Other co-op WC3 games usually involved TDs or RPGs, which were also fun but they never made me feel the "I'm in a pinch, we need to work together or else we're doomed" sort of thing. People based together, had different roles, and sometimes I just enjoyed spamming silver walls to stall the enemies to help others.